It ain’t pretty…

3 May

Not only is it not too pretty but the angle I took this photo at is making me dizzy. Honestly I did not love this. I used a very dark miso and it was just a wee bit strong for me. And, try as I might, I just don’t care for plain tofu. This was Mark Bittman’s basic miso soup recipe from How to Cook Everything Vegetarian. I made an all-day dashi, where you soak a piece of dried kombu all day to infuse the water with that seaweed taste. I think I prefer the dashi made by boiling kombu briefly with ginger. In fact I may try this whole recipe again and use ginger in the dashi and the option of adding garlic to the soup. Then I’ll post the recipe. In the meantime don’t let the picture of my miso make you dizzy.

20110503-110649.jpg

One Response to “It ain’t pretty…”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Smorl’s Houmous – Chickpeas Cooked with Seaweed | Alison Amazed - July 27, 2011

    […] It ain’t pretty… (scrumptiousgruel.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

