Purple ftw

18 Dec


First off, eat at Jar. Even if you are a vegetarian, perhaps even vegan. The vegetable sides are brilliant.
Second(on? off?), be adventurous. I do not like sweet potatoes. I saw purple Okinawan sweet potatoes on the Jar menu and decided to throw caution to the wind in the name of purple. I like purple though I do not know that I will wear it when I am old. I’ll probably still be in black. These do not taste like potatoes or sweet potatoes. They taste fantastic.
Thirdly, frequent a Korean market in Koreatown in the fall/winter and find yourself some of these. The California Market is the only place I’ve found these gems. Do not be afraid. Koreatown will not bite. And I need some visitors over here on the more easterly side of LA, I’ve been trekking west far too much these days.
I’ll stop whining.
Lastly but hardly leastly, nor yeasty, bake these up and serve with a sprinkling of fleur de sel. Don’t attempt the mustard aoli dip you see in the background-it was a bit of a fail.
I imagine some Bearnaise would be smashing, though.

Do you like foods better when they come in a cool color?

5 Responses to “Purple ftw”

  1. actorsdiet December 18, 2011 at 5:58 pm #

    i agree – those purple yams are amazing and JAR makes a great one!

    • Ellen December 19, 2011 at 9:53 pm #

      Yes they do:)
      If you have any go-to places to purchase the yams beyond California Market, let me know!

  2. Sabrina at MyMiBoSo December 20, 2011 at 10:33 pm #

    I love colorful veggies! Though admittedly I get stuck in a green rut – kale, collard, green onion being my weekly market staples – I love when I grab a colorful root veg, carrot, or pepper to mix it up!

    • Ellen December 21, 2011 at 12:07 am #

      Love them blood oranges too:)

      Sent from my iPhone

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Curiouser and curiouser « Scrumptious Gruel - February 18, 2012

    […] put it over sweet potato fries. I only had garbanzos, and I hate sweet potatoes(unless they are this kind which are totally different). I had butternut squash though so I cut it into logs, roasted at about […]

Leave a comment