Ritzy not for crackers

31 Oct

20120628-005857.jpg
I have a Cheesecake Factory ritual. Oh I do. It involves the Ritz martini, loads of bread and butter, a big ol’ salad, more bread and butter, and being too full to eat dessert right then. So I take home a piece of the six-layer chocolate cake(I actually am not the hugest cheesecake fan unless it is chocolate or peanut butter) or sometimes carrot cake. I crawl into bed with that cake, eat it, and pass out. And I wake up feeling fantastic. That is not sarcasm. Sometimes my body NEEDS that much chocolate.
Back to the Ritz drink. I saw this recipe and was hoping to create the thing I get at the Factory but alas, this seems to be something different. For starters, it is blue. But it is freakin’ delicious.
With its bright blue color it looks more fit for the tiki bar than the Ritz lobby, but it’s balanced taste reeks of sophistication. It has the dry backdrop of Champagne against which the gawdy sweetness of blue curaçao is reduced and the essence of almond from the amaretto whispers “you are not at the beach, this is a classy hotel lounge in manhattan”. The freshness of the lemon juice makes it feel suited to a lady’s luncheon. In short, nay, it has been long…just make this.

Ritz Fizz(from the Drinks Free app)
Champagne
Dash of blue curaçao
Dash of amaretto
Dash of lemon juice
Lemon twist
Fill flute with champagne.
Add blue curaçao, amaretto and lemon juice. Stir, add lemon twist garnish.
Contemplate a large piece of cake.

6 Responses to “Ritzy not for crackers”

  1. Nadiya October 31, 2012 at 9:24 pm #

    The colour of that drink is hypnotic 0.0 Not sure why but I feel so drawn to it! lol! As they say “everything in moderation” so if your body craves chocolate cheese cake then do go it 🙂 Hope you have a fun Halloween 🙂

    • Ellen November 1, 2012 at 12:25 am #

      I did! Thanks chica. Hope you had a fun one too:)

      Sent from my iPhone

  2. Sabrina Bolin (@MyMiBoSo) November 1, 2012 at 2:53 pm #

    Ha! I can just picture you passed out…and HAPPY! That’s some “soul food” if you ask me!

    • Ellen November 1, 2012 at 3:24 pm #

      Yes! Soul food, precisely. Perhaps not heart food but as you say one has to take care of mind, body and soul;)

      Sent from my iPhone

  3. Ameena November 4, 2012 at 6:13 am #

    Is the 6 Layer Cake the same as Linda’s Fudge Cake? Because that thing is just divine. Ali goes to town on it and I have a few bites of the fabulous frosting!

    • Ellen November 4, 2012 at 12:36 pm #

      Yup, the Linda’s Fudge is my favorite! Normally I tend to eat more icing than cake too, but that one is so dense that I actually like the cake part almost as much as the frosting!

      Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

