Get naked

18 Jul

20130412-141023.jpg

And be a hot tamale.

A naked one.

These poor tamales lost their britches.

And by britches I mean corn husks.

Don’t we all?

But deep down we all know what matters is on the inside of our britches.

Meow!

20130412-141102.jpg
My insides are full of spicy things, y’all.

Actually, I am going to be vulnerable and emotionally naked here for a minute. 2013 has been marvelously exciting and full of progress, but all that advancement did not seem to be leading anywhere. For all my auditions on the lot that got my hopes up came the realization that I didn’t get those jobs. For all baller improv shows with my new group, I still have plenty of times I royally flounder and I wonder what the heckums makes me think I should be on stage.

I hadn’t heard from my editors with a restaurant review assignment.

I found out the bionic arm needs surgery against due to a slipped plate. Taking care of that one in a few weeks before my tendon ruptures.
Life, schmife.

Then in one fell swoop I book work I can’t yet tell you about, get another writing assignment, my improv group earns double the stage time we were getting at the Neon Venus…I feel prettyyyyyyyyy!

Though my bionic wrist still hurts like a mofo. You can’t win em’ all.

But you can make love without your britches, which is Ellen-ese for make tamales without husks.

Just do it. Get naked and do it.

Naked Tamales with Chili Cheese Filling
Olive oil spray
1/4 cup chopped onion
Pinch sugar
1 Jarred roasted red bell pepper, chopped
2 Tbsp. canned diced green chiles
Salt
Freshly ground pepper
1/2 c. Masa Harina
2 Tbsp. frozen smart balance or butter (I was out of butter so I used balance. “Out of butter” is an affliction I hope to never have again)
1/2-3/4 c. Vegetable broth
1/4 tsp. baking powder
Pinch salt
1 oz. cheese, shredded
Cilantro and salsa, to serve
Spray a skillet with olive oil spray. Cook onion, stirring, on medium heat until it starts to brown, add sugar and cook, stirring, until a bit more browned, then add peppers, chiles, salt and pepper and cook a couple minutes longer, stirring. Take off heat.
Put yer masa in the food processor, turn it on then drizzle in broth, then add smart balance (or butterrrrrrrr!), baking powder and salt and pulse. Add more liquid if needed to get a thick batter.
Spray a couple ramekins with non-sticky spray. Fill a third full with batter, then cheese, then add filling, then add the rest of the batter. Cover ramekins with foil, put in a pan. Fill pan with water halfway up the sides of ramekins. Put it all in a 400 degree oven for 30-45 minutes. Depends on your oven. Keep an eye. When masa is pulling away from the ramekin sides it should be decent.
Eat. Be naked. Not at the same time.

4 Responses to “Get naked”

  1. milkandhoneyontherun July 21, 2013 at 12:06 pm #

    You have a bionic arm o.O Was that from your fall?

    Bummers about all the auditions but yay about improv group 😀 Just go with whatever is working and enjoy it 😉 There’ll be many more auditions anyways 🙂

    The recipe sounds uberly cool 🙂

    • Ellen July 21, 2013 at 12:52 pm #

      The bionic arm was from the fall. It will be one platinum plate less bionic in a few weeks, haha. The recipe is pretty uber-delicious. Thanks for the use “über”, I love that word:)

      Sent from my iPhone

  2. Sabrina Bolin (@MyMiBoSo) July 23, 2013 at 10:25 am #

    Ahhhhh!!!! I want to hear about this mystery job!

    And I’m going to try your recipe – I’ve bought the Trader Joe’s Polenta before and could just mold it and shape it around your chili cheese deliciousness!

    • Ellen July 23, 2013 at 12:13 pm #

      Oooh! I like your polenta solution. I want to hear how it turns out.
      As for the mystery job, it’s a commercial. We shot yesterday. I signed an NDA but you and I are going to schedule a time to catch up (Gjelina?!) so I can give you the details in person:)

Leave a Reply

