You can never have too many

25 Jul

20130503-170001.jpg

…little black dresses, hugs, Reese’s peanut butter cups, laughs, or deviled egg recipes.

Or deviled eggs, for that matter.

Or could you? Actually you probably could and I probably have, on all of the above. Except little black dresses.

But that one last laugh may be the one that busts your gut, or something. Never happened to me but I’m just saying…

Ok, the food. It has been a work-y work-y summer but if I were just chillin’ at BBQ’s (we shall not call them “‘ques”) I’d bring these then be the annoying guest wanting to borrow the friggin’ oven, mid-summer, to toast the crumbs on top of these. A warm, crumbed, deviled egg sounds weird but it’s a bloody revolution.

Not terrible leftover and cold, either.

Horseradish Deviled Eggs adapted from the May 2013 Bon Appetit
3 hard-boiled eggs, cut in half, discard or use one yolk for something else, put other two in a small bowl
2 heaping Tbsp. mayo
1 1/2 tsp. prepared horseradish
1/4 tsp. white wine vinegar
1/2 tsp. Dijon mustard
Pinch of kosher salt
1/2 slice fresh wheat bread, turned into fine crumbs
Olive oil spray
Turn on the broiler. Mix yolks, mayo, horseradish, vinegar, mustard, and salt. Use to stuff whites. Sprinkle bread crumbs over and spritz with olive oil spray. Broil only until crumbs brown, around 2 minutes. Eat hot but they are good chilled too!

8 Responses to “You can never have too many”

  1. Ellie July 26, 2013 at 5:37 am #

    YUM! Can’t wait to try it. Horseradish!

    • Ellen July 26, 2013 at 12:39 pm #

      Yes! The horseradish makes it. If only I could take credit for it, but Bon Appetit had the genius.

  2. Nadiya @ Milk and Honey on the Run July 27, 2013 at 3:03 pm #

    Hey! I consider laughing to be a good ab workout 😉 Laughing too much could cause tummy muscle pain the next day (has happened to me…)

    Love deviled eggs and the Russian Ukrainian in me would love the horseradish 🙂 We eat that stuff religiously. I’ve always eaten deviled eggs cold and find that they’re nice for left overs. Hmmm… something to add to my weekend meal prep plan 😀 Thanx for the idea 😉

    • Ellen July 28, 2013 at 1:21 pm #

      Hmm, laughter IS good for the abs, you are correct I’m going to say going to see comedy shows is the new cardio. Thank YOU for the good idea;)

      Sent from my iPhone

  3. Kammie September 4, 2013 at 10:13 am #

    My mom is obsessed with horseradish. I can already see her being all over this recipe. Emailed her with the link!

    • Ellen September 4, 2013 at 2:03 pm #

      Awesome, thanks for sharing the link with your mom. And thank you for the comments. I checked out your blog too-I love the name!

  4. tamara@prettybitchescancook.com September 12, 2013 at 7:58 am #

    Im a lover of deviled eggs! There was a period of time that I made egg everything and my roomate was pissed b/c the house smelled pretty rotten LOL but I never thought of horseradish in my eggs…Will Try!
    http://www.prettybitchescancooktoo.com

    • Ellen September 12, 2013 at 2:16 pm #

      Excellent, I hope you like it! I’m checking out your blog now. I’m highly intrigued by the name;)

Leave a comment