Chopsticks: just one perk of full brain function

23 May

20120426-232806.jpg
One I did not manage to do with my left hand whilst healing my smashed up right arm was eating with chopsticks.

I like to gobble stuff with the sticks. Even things that you don’t need to. There is something elegant about a well-handled chopstick. Sexy, even.

However, whilst my right arm was healing and I had to be left-handed, I was busy sleeping most of my life away when whilst my brain tried repair a synapse or so so I didn’t really have too much time to miss chopsticks.

Now that I am all healed, physically, if not mentally(questionable whether that part I me was functioning pre-accident) I decided I should have more legit reasons to break out the sticks. And get choppy.

So I made this stir-fry.

Stir-fried Water Chestnuts(adapted from The Joy of Cooking,2006 version)
1 8 oz. can sliced water chestnuts, drained and rinsed
1 1/2 T. Soy sauce
1 Tsp. minced garlic
1 tsp. minced ginger
1/2 tsp. splenda
1/2 tsp. crushed red pepper flakes
1 jarred roasted red bell pepper, sliced
6 oz. trimmed snow peas
Combine soy sauce, garlic, ginger, Splenda and pepper flakes in a little bowl.
Spray a skillet and heat over medium-high. Add red bell peppers, stir and fry(stir-fry!) a minute, add snow peas and stir-fry a couple more minutes, til crisp but tender. Add chestnuts stir-fry another minute or so until they’re all tender, like my soul. Add soy sauce mixture and cook til veggies are coated and sauce is reduced a bit, a couple more minutes. Get yer chopsticks.

4 Responses to “Chopsticks: just one perk of full brain function”

  1. Sabrina Bolin (@MyMiBoSo) May 24, 2012 at 12:37 pm #

    Ah, the stir fry – once upon a time, the ONLY thing I could cook (no kidding). I’ve now branched out (a bit) but a good ole pan full of veggies and oil is comfort food to me any night of the week. I opt for the sticks, the man opts for the fork. He clearly doesn’t know how to be sexy like us…

    • Ellen May 24, 2012 at 12:47 pm #

      Hehe, sexy with chopsticks, that’s our schtick! Or should I say chopschtick.

      Sent from my iPhone

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I pity the fu « Scrumptious Gruel - June 2, 2012

    […] discussed this. It’s real fun n […]

  2. Hakka-lujah | Scrumptious Gruel - January 20, 2014

    […] to really judge Chinese food. I never eat it outside the home. I rarely even cook food that requires chopsticks or qualifies as faux […]

Leave a comment