Pumpkin Time Again

9 Nov


I’ll explain the picture in a minute.
I finally succumbed to the autumn urge to pumpkin it up. And now I will pump(clap, point) you up! Sorry, SNL moment. Hans and Franz.
Since I held out on pumpkin recipes for the last post, this time I am showing you two. One vegan, created by the ever-lovely Katie, which you see at the top of the post. These pumpkin bars are so friggin’ fantastic. I barely managed not to eat the whole pan the first night I made them.
Then the next night I had a night shoot playing a goth, AGAIN:

Night fell, the shoot went on forever and at last at 4 am I arrived home with fake blood crusting on my neck, having been killed by vampires. Delicious image, no? I was starving and gulped down half the pan of these. Glad I had saved some. In honor of the goth-y state I was in when I consumed these, I took a picture of them with a comic about goths I clipped way back in the 90’s from a zine. Remember zines? Yeah, nineties grrl power. And goth power. And stuff.
Anyway, black attire or no, bloody or not, hop on over to Katie and check out the recipe for these bars.
And now, the non-vegan pumpkin bar:

This is the one that opened the floodgates of pumpkin. The gateway bar. Once you start, you can’t stop. It is addictive. I had been wanting to make this recipe for Pumpkin Bars from the Poppin’ Fresh Homemade Cookies cookbook, published by Pillsbury since…oh since I bought the book at a sixth grade book fair. A lot of other pumpkin recipes from other sources as well as a six year bout with anorexia distracted me from getting around to it.
Well done on this recipe, Pillsbury authors!
Incidentally, the Pillsbury Dough Boy(along with the Michelin man) was the inspiration behind the Stay Puft Marshmallow Man. And I know him. The man who built and wore the costume. he’s not puffy. He says he filled in as Slimer occasionally during the film shoot. These are the folks I met at the parties when I was seeing a professional propsmaker. Ah, Hollywood. I digress.
I wish I had had cream cheese, I’d have frosted these suckers. But I did not.
Observe this picture of these bars:

Yep. That is some light Smart Balance I am putting on them. Incidentally, this variety of it is vegan. Not all Smart Balance is even vegetarian. One variety(the light heart right kind, I think?) has fish oil in it. Gross!
Now we’ve covered Katie, zines, goth-iness, vampires, fake blood, Ghost Busters characters, Hans and Franz, and fish oil.
So eat. Write a zine. Pump yourself up. Do a little dance. Make a little love, if you like.
Which of these activities are you doing tonight?
Let’s get to the recipe.
Pumpkin Bars(adapted from Poppin’ Fresh Homemade Cookies by Pillsbury)
1 cup flour
1/4 cup sugar
1/4 cup splenda or stevia(or just use a full cup of sugar)
1 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. cinnamon
1/2 tsp. nutmeg
1/4 tsp. salt
1/4 tsp. cloves
1/2 cup applesauce
1 cup canned pumpkin puree
2 eggs
Heat oven to 350 degrees. Sift dry ingredients together. Add wet and mix it up. Mix it good. But not too good, no need to beat this stuff. Pour into a sprayed 9×9 pan and bake til…done. I don’t remember how long I cooked these. I’m guessing a half hour more or less. But I took them out when slightly underdone because that is how I like them. Bottom line, take them out when they reach the state of done-ousity you prefer.

12 Responses to “Pumpkin Time Again”

  1. Sabrina November 10, 2011 at 1:27 am #

    Thank you! This leftover roasted pumpkin purée in my fridge finally has a use! But I don’t have applesauce…would it be crazy to steam a couple of persimmons and then throw them in the food processor?

    • Ellen November 10, 2011 at 10:29 am #

      Well, the applesauce is for moisture, so probably as long as the persimmon is not too dry! Though the pectin in the apple may factor in too. But give it a whirl and tell me if it works:) Funny, I’ve made recipes for persimmon things and substituted pumpkin before, so if you ran out if pumpkin you could maybe even make an all-persimmon bar.

      Sent from my iPhone

      • MyMiBoSo November 10, 2011 at 11:08 am #

        Yes I was thinking about that today – moisture pectin factor that is. BUT I think I found a solution – leftover Pumpkin Cookie Dough from Chocolate Covered Katie’s recipe! I have been eating it on everything this week so it would be good to get it out of my fridge and into a recipe (and it has moisture AND more pumpkin – should be good!). I’ll let you know how it goes!

      • Ellen November 10, 2011 at 11:09 am #

        Cool! I gotta try that stuff.

        Sent from my iPhone

  2. Ameena November 13, 2011 at 7:39 pm #

    I know I should comment on the recipe but instead I’m going to comment on your outfit…Love the boots!

    • Ellen November 13, 2011 at 8:20 pm #

      You can comment on whatever you like! Forever 21, if you are looking for a nice pair of thigh hIgh boots for not too much cash:)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. please be ginger « Scrumptious Gruel - December 10, 2011

    […] in my life to be happy about. Seriously no need to be mope-ey, unless I’m rehearsing another goth-y role. Christmas food gifting is where it is at. Brings me joy and cheer and merriment. Hopefully brings […]

  2. Something’s coming « Scrumptious Gruel - April 14, 2012

    […] have been other delights of punkin’ nature: Pumpkin Chia Pudding As well as pumpkin bars, time […]

  3. Thanks Katie: second annual Pumpkin Week in Spring Day Four « Scrumptious Gruel - April 26, 2012

    […] me get down with dirty with my girl Chocolate Covered Katie before. You’ve seen us do it with pumpkin before. I did her muffin. We screamed a lot. Turned purple. So we took a […]

  4. Addicted to love « Scrumptious Gruel - July 4, 2012

    […] Bread in a Bowl Baked Pumpkin Oatmeal(boatmeal) Cookie Dough Balls Vegan Crustless Quiche Pumpkin Bars Singleton Muffin and Cinnamon Baked Oatmeal Cake Batter Ice Cream Beautiful Blueberry Concoction […]

  5. Second Annual Un-Pizza Week Day Two: Un-pizza hummus « Scrumptious Gruel - January 29, 2013

    […] Bread in a Bowl Baked Pumpkin Oatmeal(boatmeal) Cookie Dough Balls Vegan Crustless Quiche Pumpkin Bars Singleton Muffin and Cinnamon Baked Oatmeal Cake Batter Ice Cream Beautiful Blueberry Concoction […]

  6. Round up yer pumpkins! | Scrumptious Gruel - May 9, 2013

    […] goodness in front of me in Autumn? There have been pumpkin chia puddings I tried a couple of pumpkin bar recipes but will only bore you with one picture: And once upon a time, right when I was starting […]

Leave a comment