Cosmania Day Six

23 Jun

20120528-003812.jpg
Ok, the week has finished and I have learned what makes a Cosmopolitan work.

Yet my work is nevah evah done.

I found that the citron vodka is so very worth it. Pay the price, if an excellant Cosmo is what you desire. A bit more than half fresh lime juice to vodka works. Vodka and Cointreau in a 3:2 ratio. Provided you are using cranberry juice cocktail use equal parts of that and lime juice. And garnish with lime, not lemon.

But I was not satisfied. In my quest to perfect the Cosmo and give it the winning edge, I wanted to give it some brawn. Some might. The Cosmo has brains, but they are stifled by the insistance of society that Cosmos be relegated to woman.

So I added in a factor with a bit of machismo: Campari.

It is bitter. The stuff of Negronis. Now, it is also the stuff of not-just-a-drink-for-females.

The Mo-ellen.

I’d call it Moen but people would expect a hot and cold dial.

As a bonus I am throwing in a variation created by the lovely Alice.

Make it and love it. Know that you are no longer sipping a girl drink, you are drinking a universal elixir.

Oh yes.

The Mo-ellen(created by Ellen Clifford, for a little mo’ ellen in your life)
1/2 oz. Campari
1/2 oz. Cointreau
1 1/2 oz. citron vodka
1 oz. lime
1 1/2 oz. cranberry juice cocktail(your results will be even less sweet if you use regular juice)
Lime slice to garnish.
Shake up. Strain. Garnish. Sip.

For an Mo-Alicell top off with champagne. You lose a bit of macho but gain a bit of class.

11 Responses to “Cosmania Day Six”

  1. Nadiya @ Milk and Honey June 23, 2012 at 5:19 pm #

    I love how you made the drink less girly 😀 Although I’m sure guys like girly drinks too, they’re just to chicken to admit it 😛 PS: love the champaign idea ^^

  2. Nadiya @ Milk and Honey June 23, 2012 at 5:20 pm #

    woops completely spelled champagne wrong lol! You’d think I’ve learned something after all the time in France and Florence…

    • Ellen June 23, 2012 at 7:50 pm #

      I am jealous of your drinking champagne in France!

      Sent from my iPhone

  3. Ameena June 23, 2012 at 9:15 pm #

    I know nothing about cosmos but I have to say…this one looks perfect!!

    • Ellen June 24, 2012 at 12:11 pm #

      Thanks! If you happen to have the ingredients, give it a try! Or if you don’t, order one somewhere nice and tell em’ to add some Campari…heehee, it would be funny to go somewhere and order a mo-ellen and then try to explain it to the bartender line they should have known. Well that would be amusing to me anyway:)

      Sent from my iPhone

  4. Sabrina Bolin (@MyMiBoSo) June 27, 2012 at 10:23 am #

    I’m going to order a “Mo-Ellen” everywhere I go! Granted I doubt the bar could ever master your REAL secret ingredient…your wit ;).

    • Ellen June 27, 2012 at 10:34 am #

      Ooohhhh, thank you! That is such a compliment. Heh, between wit, love and Compari this drink is a triple threat of secret ingredients:)

      Sent from my iPhone

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. What comes before a part B « Scrumptious Gruel - July 8, 2012

    […] think the winner of the night was Alice ‘s creation. Perhaps you remember Alice? Inventrix of the Mo-alicell? Alice who learned how to get grindy with me? Poor Alice who I screwed in the birthday cake […]

  2. Fit for a princess « Scrumptious Gruel - September 19, 2012

    […] I needed to use that citron vodka from all my Cosmos . That and this sounded like it could be a manly girl drink, not in name but in hard alcohol […]

  3. Saz me « Scrumptious Gruel - January 1, 2013

    […] attempts were seen on the Gruel here. Unlike my perfect Camparied up Cosmo I came up with, the Mo-ellen, my Saz recipe is not just for the beverage, but for the whole […]

  4. Great expectations: martinify | Scrumptious Gruel - October 3, 2013

    […] a girl just wants a nice pink cosmo. I was in that sort of mood and ordered one at the Standard. The bartender handed me a clear drink. […]

Leave a comment