It is a pudding

1 Aug

20120728-135554.jpg
I figured I had better give you a non-British-sense-of-the-word pudding. I’d baited you with my two non-pudding puddings.
And then I thought of making a more jello-mold type pudding. My experiments substituting agar for gelatin in fruit jello molds are pretty:

20120727-115442.jpg
Pretty, but not yet perfected. You’ll note I didn’t unmold that molded agar-jello. There’s a good reason for that.

Then I remembered this recipe I tried from that vixen Katie and combined both my agar n fruit experiments to create a recipe I am going to call more or less: My own.

My own pudding.

Sort of. It is thick, anyway. And sweet. But it is nothing like that gelatinous goop spooned forth from the Jello packs.

That color is all-natural y’all! And it’s hard to see but there are voluptuous cherries in this:

20120731-000228.jpg

Voluptuous fruit. Yah.

My own chocolate cherry pudding(inspired by Chocolate Covered Katie, any old jello recipe, and a desire to have a healthy-ish and less sickeningly sweet form of these because I am the only one who likes the cordial filling anyway)
1 1/3 cups unsweetened chocolate almond milk
1 heaping Tbsp. agar
1 heaping cup of frozen sweet pitted cherries
Five-ish drops of cocoa stevia( thanks Averie!) plus any more sweetener of choice
1/2 tsp. almond extract

Mix agar and milk in a small saucepan and let sit for about five minutes. Then bring to a boil, reduce heat and let it simmer until the agar is dissolved. That is more or less the same instructions on the package of agar flakes, and about the same as listed in this post by mzzzz Katie.
Let that shiz-nit cool in the fridge and don’t worry about it separating.
Add all but 8-10 cherries, plus remaining ingredients and use an immersion blender to blend the heck out of it. Divide cherries between a couple of ramekins then add pudding.
Admire the purple hue. Devour voluptuously, whatever that means to you.

6 Responses to “It is a pudding”

  1. Nadiya @ Milk and Honey August 2, 2012 at 5:29 pm #

    Cool recipe! Definitely on my to cook list. Woaah they have cocoa stevia? Haha agar 😛 My bacteria looooveee that stuff, I’m sure I will too 🙂

    • Ellen August 2, 2012 at 5:53 pm #

      Cool! I’ve heard agar is a lab staple:) I never would have gotten cocoa stevia but that I won a giveaway on another blog. And I have found it oh-so-handy that I’ll probably end up getting more. I guess giving stuff away free really is a way to build a client base, haha…

      Sent from my iPhone

  2. Sabrina Bolin (@MyMiBoSo) August 4, 2012 at 3:05 pm #

    Love that you’re playing with agar and stevia! Hippie food-right up my alley 😉

    • Ellen August 4, 2012 at 4:02 pm #

      Heehee, I am having fun playing with the agar…

      Sent from my iPhone

  3. Bou Shin @ Shin's Vegan Lovin' August 4, 2012 at 4:03 pm #

    Mm, cherry-chocolate pudding sounds delicious. Normally I combine my agar with tofu to make vegan hard-boiled eggs so it doesn’t stick – how long do you refrigerate/keep from touching your agar-jello?

    • Ellen August 4, 2012 at 4:19 pm #

      Vegan hard-boiled eggs? Amazing. What to you do to simulate a yolk?
      As for how long I refrigerate, I never really time it. Til it’s cold though, probably at least an hour?
      You should make this and do something pretty with it on your blog, you make such pretty things…

Leave a comment