Wake em upper

8 Aug

20120802-015328.jpg
Firstly, my latest review for Blackboard Eats was published. Read about some stellar pizza pie here.

Lest you not know what to do with leftover coke from your Kalimotxo, I give you the Colorado bulldog.

The notion of Coke and dairy is not so novel. There is the venerable ice cream float.

Then there is the time I saw a man pour himself a diet coke and add a splash of skim.
I said “ew”.
He said “taste”
And so I did. Coke float. In a diet way. Which is not what I need right now.

So Colorado Bulldog it is. I know not the origins of the name and heat has rendered me unable to think clearly enough to google.

Incidentally, in my family we called coke wake-em-upper, but only when enjoyed in the afternoon as a post-nap beverage.
Preferably with a chocolate chip cookie from the best recipe.

Finally, if you are in Colorado and have a bulldog please tell me about it in the comments, or heck, email me a picture if you like, I will try to see if there is any resemblance to the beverage… scrumptiousgruel.ellen@gmail.com

Colorado Bulldog, just barely adapted from the Bartender’s Companion by Mittie Hellmich
Ice
1 oz. vodka
1/2 oz. Kahlua
1 oz. half n half
Coke
Fill the glass you want to use with ice. Pour that ice as well as the vodka, Kahlua and half n half into a shake and shake.
Pour that, ice and all back into the cup and top it up with coke.

3 Responses to “Wake em upper”

  1. Sabrina Bolin (@MyMiBoSo) August 10, 2012 at 3:22 pm #

    Oh I LOVE me some coke floats…or at least I did until I became a no-refined sugar hippie. But what the hey, maybe I’ll indulge and make a Colorado Bulldog with one those hippie sodas!

    • Ellen August 10, 2012 at 6:44 pm #

      Yeah! Zevia makes a decent stevia cola:)

      Sent from my iPhone

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Stupid simple « Scrumptious Gruel - August 15, 2012

    […] summer shalt have a stupid simple recipe. This one uses more of that half n half you bought for the Colorado Bulldog and probably did not use for the Frostbite. Because I said it […]

Leave a Reply

