For one? Second Annual Pumpkin Week in Spring Day Three

25 Apr

20120423-220316.jpg
Welcome day three of the Second Annual Pumpkin Week in Spring!
Boo-yah. Merriment, etc.

Let us get started.

I’ve mentioned before, I’ve been dating my career this year, and she is one foxy wench.

Demanding. She consumes my mind, body and soul and I love her.

So clearly, I want to keep her. So I cook for her.

Fortunately she’s a small eater. I can cook for one person who has a big appetite and it is enough. Which is good because I spend a lot of money on her for other things,

This recipe, which I reduced to be “for one” was also actually a request of my friend. She wanted to see soup on the pumpkin week menu. It is thanks to this friend I made this Indian Potato Salad so when she requested that I make a soup part of Pumpkin Week in Spring, I obliged.

My woman got jealous, but I soothed her with a good staged reading, so that saucy minx career of mine would shut the hell up.

Here you see the romantic candlelit dinner I made for me and my work:

20120423-220546.jpg
Note that we share a spoon. We’re that close. As one. She completes me.

I consulted a few recipes for this but decided on using the basic recipe from The Joy of Cooking and elaborating. To make it more trendy-um, I mean vegan, I used almond milk instead of broth or cream. I wanted to get my date hot so I added some hot sauce. Then just a dash of my favorite spice, cumin. Topped with a smattering of cilantro.

Pumpkin Soup for you and your not-too-hungry Love(adapted and reduced from The Joy of Cooking)
Olive oil spray
1/3 c. chopped onion
a couple Tbsp. celery, chopped
1 c. pumpkin
1/4 c. water
1/4 c. almond milk
1 tsp. sugar
salt
freshly ground pepper
Dash of hot sauce(I use Bufalo Chipotle)
Pinch of cumin
Cilantro
Spray a small pot and heat over medium. Add onion and celery and heat until translucent. Stir in pumpkin, then remaining ingredients except the cilantro. Break out Bad Boy, I mean your immersion blender, and blend that sucker up. Get as hot as you want(delicious both hot and chilled!), garnish with cilantro and serve to your lady.

10 Responses to “For one? Second Annual Pumpkin Week in Spring Day Three”

  1. Nadiya @ Milk and Honey April 25, 2012 at 12:59 pm #

    I’m amazed how many things you can do with pumpkin. I’ve only tried pumpkin porridge with rice, pumpkin pie of course, and pumpkin chia pudding. Wow :O These ideas are inspiring ^^

    • Ellen April 25, 2012 at 4:01 pm #

      Yeah, I think for almost every food out there you can make a pumpkin version. Your pumpkin porridge sounds great! I love the word porridge…

      Sent from my iPhone

  2. Averie @ Averie Cooks April 26, 2012 at 9:09 pm #

    I love the small batch size, the no-fuss recipe, it looks perfect!

    • Ellen April 26, 2012 at 9:14 pm #

      Yes, I’m all about the small batch. I hope you do decide to do your pumpkin recipes even though it’s spring on your blog!

      Sent from my iPhone

  3. Sabrina Bolin (@MyMiBoSo) May 1, 2012 at 4:15 pm #

    Oh how I love the way you’re dating your career 🙂

    • Ellen May 1, 2012 at 4:54 pm #

      She’s a cruel mistress but I love her all the same:)

      Sent from my iPhone

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. For one, fo’ realz « Scrumptious Gruel - May 12, 2012

    […] sadness that they are not “for two” recipes until I remember I am cooking for me and my small-eater love, my […]

  2. Round up yer pumpkins! | Scrumptious Gruel - May 9, 2013

    […] Next up, I did probably my most adored recipe-in terms of people hitting the site and re-pinning, in my very of recipe for pumpkin soup. […]

  3. Bulgur not vulgar | Scrumptious Gruel - October 9, 2013

    […] I should ply you with health while I can. I fear that there may be a lot more beverages for you here now that I’m cooking/writing for two. For three counting my lover. […]

  4. Best hits and what may come for the Gruel: Opinions wanted | Scrumptious Gruel - December 31, 2013

    […] of a few more clicks: Next-most clicked upon this year, and the most clicked upon of all time is this pumpkin soup: It helps that the photo was pretty, I imagine. But I was proud of my recipe too. The least […]

Leave a comment